Hours:
Daily
7:30 am - 8:30 pm

Contact Us:
80 North Paint Street
Chillicothe OH 45601
p: 740-779-0440
email us

History of Schlegel's Coffee House!

SchlegelsFacade.jpg

Constructed in the 1860’s, the building was home to The Dreamland, one of the city’s many silent movie theaters, around the turn of the century.

Unfortunately, after the advent of “talkies”, audiences moved to larger theaters to see their favorite film stars. The Dreamland closed and was replaced by Schlegel’s Jewelry, thriving until the early 1970’s.

The building underwent complete restoration in the mid 1990’s. The interior is accented by the original pressed tin ceiling, original display windows, original Art Deco wall sconces and a fully restored antique popcorn machine from Chillicothe’s Royal Theater.

Also adding to the interior décor is an original wooden phone booth from the 1940’s and an exquisite antique back bar restored to its original 1890’s shine.

Check out a recent article in the September 2011 issue of Ohio Magazine.

SchlegelsBackBar.jpg

Sharon prepares a coffee.

A visit to Schlegel’s promises to be an experience to enjoy!